Parish Committees

Parish Council

Members represent the parishioners as an advisory committee to the Pastor in all spiritual and secular affairs of St. James Parish. The Council is composed of nine members each serving a three-year term but no more than two consecutive terms. Additional members include the Pastor, a Parish trustee(s), and designated office staff. Members also serve as liaisons of other parish committees to the Parish Council. The Council meets on the third Thursday of each month. Members are selected by lot from names advanced by the nomination process.


  • Paula Hull, Chair
  • Keven Heese, Vice Chair
  • Shane Bendfeldt
  • Tammy Lawter
  • Becky Puls
  • Sue Placke
  • Carson Watt
  • Jon Brandt
  • Paula Hull, Trustee

Finance Committee

Members serve to advise the Pastor and Parish Council in all the financial matters of the parish. This includes monthly review of the financial report and financial status, preparation of an annual budget and annual financial report to the parish, overseeing parish investments and liabilities, and direct means of raising revenue for the parish.  Additional members include the Pastor, a Parish trustee(s) and designated office staff. Members are approved by the Pastor. The Committee meets on the third Tuesday of each month.


  • Mike Kathol
  • Matt Sommers, Chair
  • Gary Steffensmeier, Vice Chair
  • April Roggasch
  • Steve Rogers
  • Matt Sommers, Trustee
  • Ed Berglund
  • Keven Heese

Catholic Social Teaching Council

Modern Catholic Social Teaching has been articulated through documents provided by Popes and Councils, including the United States Council of Catholic Bishops. There are numerous themes that are at the heart of Catholic Social Teaching, including Life and Dignity of the Human Person, Rights and Responsibilities, Options For The Poor and Vulnerable, and Care For God’s Creation. The council at St. James Parish prepares and organizes for presentations, panels, and various activities to promote opportunities for education and service related to Catholic Social Teaching. Contact: Sister Catherine 308-234-5526 or

KCHS School Board

There will be two members of the parish who will represent the parish on the board. The Parish Council and Finance Committees will be kept abreast of activities at the school by liaison report and review of the school board minutes.

Stewardship Team

Members promote the mission of St. James by fostering stewardship as a way of life within all
aspects of the parish community. Contact: Deacon Mark Bowman 308-234-5536 or

Safety/Security Committee


For more information or to sign up for one or more committees, please contact the Parish Office at 308-234-5536.

St. James Stained Glass Window

St. James Catholic Church

3801 Avenue A, Kearney, NE 68847

Parish Office Hours

Mon-Thurs – 9:00 am to 5:00 pm
Fri – 9:00 am to 3:00 pm

Kearney Catholic High School

110 East 35th Street, Kearney, NE 68847

KCHS Foundation

20 East 21st Street, Kearney, NE 68847